HEDGE TRIMMING

Change the Shape of your Flat Top Bushes

And the angel of the LORD appeared to him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush. He looked, and behold, the bush was burning, yet it was not consumed. -Exodus 3:2

both bushes before

I dislike these bushes. A lot. I don’t like the idea of any plant being “outdated”; choosing the right ones can be a big investment of time and money. But let’s just face the fact that landscaping in general can definitely be outdated. I asked Nate’s permission before I started cutting away, because I knew they would look a little silly until they start growing out. We agreed that if we can’t make them attractive, we’ll just remove them completely and start over.

I think these bushes could actually look kind of pretty and whimsy, given a chance. But they will need time to get their shape back from all of the years of being buzzed. I started with a some hand shears and branch clippers (which I need to buy a new set). First, I sat on the ground and started clipping off any branches down low to the ground. I want them to flare out on the top, not on the bottom like a circle.

both bushes before

Then I checked all around the bushes and clipped any branches with brown needles.

brown spots

Next, I stepped back and looked at the shape of the branches to decide which ones will stay and which will go (this was the most difficult part) and started clipping. I used the hand shears for everything small. There are still some large branches at the bottom I need to cut away with a saw when I get around to it.

finished right bush

As I was digging into the retaining wall by the driveway, I came across several plants I needed to move. Trying to identify them by their root ball- I think they are hostas, but I’m not sure. I dug up 12 plants and put 6 under each bush in a half circle. We will just have to wait for them to surprise us!

finished both bushes

 This is the end product. Much better! The bushes are no longer super heavy and weighing down the front of the house.

Leave a Reply

