WONDERBOY RECYCLE

A Video Promoting Recycling

The Lord God took the man and put him in the garden of Eden to work it and keep it. – Genesis 2:15

I recently joined The Green Team at work and created a logo for it.

Blue Bird Logo-Green Team

I have no experience with graphic art, but with an hour of clicking around on Microsoft Word I figured it out. I made several and this is the one that got the popular vote out of the 6 of us.

Merchants is moving us to a new building in West Des Moines in August and we trying to kick off environmentally friendly habits from the start. I created this video trying to encourage the employees to use their recycle containers that are attached to their trash cans. On Earth Day, everyone will receive an email that looks like this:

Earth Day email for blog

When you click on the link, it brings you to the YouTube video. I was a little nervous about showing this to The Green Team leader. I wasn’t sure if she would appreciate the humor from Tenacious D (a 2 person band including Jack Black).

On Tuesday I played it for the group on my laptop. I waited expectantly to see what their reaction would be. Did I miss the mark with this? Is this too “young” a tone for this demographic? The team made no comments on it at all afterwards. They looked at each other and then changed the subject. Yes! That happened! They start a conversation on a 20 minute tangent. My face is red and I am feeling humiliated. I put myself out there with something I thought was clever, and not for the first time in my life, feeling that people didn’t “get me”.

So the meeting came to a close. And right before I grabbed my stuff to walk out the leader said, “That was awesome, Candice. You can send that out on Earth Day.” Phew!! Here is the link, you can watch for yourself. Btw, when you see the “castle in the clouds” part- yeah, I drew that with permanent marker on the white board the first time. When I realized it I was freaking out! The mail clerk helped me remedy the situation. It was indeed Good Friday, the day of atonement.

CLICK HERE FOR WONDERBOY VIDEO

Leave a Reply

