REPAIR & ALTER FAVORITE JEANS

Don’t Give Up Your Favorite Jeans!- Solutions for 3 Common Problem Areas

“They shall build up the ancient ruins; they shall raise up the former devastations; they shall repair the ruined cities, the devastations of many generations.” – Isaiah 61:4

Isaiah became a prophet of God as a young man under the reign of Jotham, King Uzziah’s son (more about prophets in FAUX.WOOD.FRONT.DOOR). Isaiah was selected by God to speak on His behalf to the Israelites. The Israelites had fallen far from God’s promises of prosperity, or so it seemed, due to enemy aggression and poor royal leadership that continued for many years.

Isaiah had delivered several warnings to the people about the oppression that was to come in result of their disobedience. But like a great parent, God disciplines and offers grace and forgiveness. The second half of the book of Isaiah is God’s message to the Jews following their Babylonian captivity. God promises to liberate them, restore their souls, and repair their cities.

Isaiah 61:1-4

“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor;

he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;  to proclaim the year of the Lord‘s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God;

to comfort all who mourn;  to grant to those who mourn in Zion— to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning,

the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness,the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified.

 They shall build up the ancient ruins; they shall raise up the former devastations; they shall repair the ruined cities, the devastations of many generations.”

If this were happening to you, in the midst of deportation and destruction of the only life you have ever known, you would be wondering how this is going to happen. Great news; but who is going to come and restore all of the damage that has been done? Who indeed, after the royal succession of disappointment?

One seriously awesome thing about the book of Isaiah is how much prophesy is written of the coming Messiah. Messiah means “anointed one”, and anointed means “someone chosen by God to fulfill a specific purpose”. Like so many other figures and stories in the Bible, this one also foretells the coming and purpose of Christ. For those of you that don’t know, the entire Bible points to Jesus. Not by a stretch; it’s about Him from beginning to end. Hundreds of years after God had restored and settled the Jews in their own land out of captivity, this happened  . . .

“[Jesus] came to Nazareth, where he had been brought up. And as was his custom, he went to the synagogue on the Sabbath day, and he stood up to read.  And the scroll of the prophet Isaiah was given to him. He unrolled the scroll and found the place where it was written,

‘The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.’

And he rolled up the scroll and gave it back to the attendant and sat down. And the eyes of all in the synagogue were fixed on him.  And he began to say to them, ‘Today this Scripture has been fulfilled in your hearing.’” – Luke 4:16-20

Regarding biblical prophesy . . .

For all the promises of God find their Yes in [Jesus]. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory. -2 Corinthians 1:20

Not only did God restore the Israelites following their Babylonian captivity, but God has extended this promise beyond the Jews to all believers in Christ. And Jesus confirms this above in Luke. So what does this have to do with us?

Our sin makes us blind to our captivity. Some of you don’t realize you are trapped in a vicious cycle of destruction. And some of you do know, but you have no idea how to get out or how believing in Jesus could change any of it. But when you know Christ for who He is and really understand what He did for you; you can become fully aware of your entanglement in sin.

God saved my soul on June 6, 2013. Before then I was angry, wounded, and hurt. I had gaping spiritual wounds that oozed out into everything I thought, did, and spoke. I was broken. I had generational bullet holes all over me from my family, and their family, and the family before them.

With the realization that out of love Jesus had paid the death-price for my sin on the cross, I repented of my sinful life and offered Him back everything He had given me. I asked Him to be my Savior and now Lord of my life.  And the moment I received the Holy Spirit I knew, in the deepest, darkest parts of me, that I wasn’t broken anymore. I still sin, and am momentarily hurt by things, and fail to meet perfection (by miles) in everything, but I’m not broken anymore.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.  All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation.  Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.  For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” -2 Corinthians 5:17-21

I’m a new creation. Instead of anger about my past, I have empathy. Instead of open wounds, I have healed scars. Instead of pain, I have comfort.

All of God’s promises find their YES in Christ! He repairs the devastations of many generations, that through Him, He alters our brokenness into righteousness . . . a new creation, ambassador for Christ.

REPAIR.&.ALTER.JEANS

Two pairs of jeans have been sitting in my sewing room since we moved. Nate had given them to me and stressed that they were not to be thrown away.

PROBLEM.#.1.CROTCH.EROSION

Crotch erosion. For many of us girls it happens because of our shapely thighs, but for the men it usually happens from the loose fabric that catches when they walk.

Front:

Jeans-1

Back:

Jeans-2 back

I always save jeans to use for scrap and patching. This patch is a little dark, but where these holes are it will be unseen. This scrap is from a stretchy pair of my old jeans. I like there to be a comfortable give, especially in the crotch area, when patching holes. We are active and don’t want them to rip out by bending over.

Jeans 3- patch

I love this thread for jeans. It’s a two tone that works for almost all jean colors.

Jeans 4- thread

Although my mother was a seamstress, I picked this method up from my Aunt Ruthie. Before watching her, I only really knew how to patch from the outside of jeans. Since these are Nate’s jeans, I’m not going to embarrass him like that.

Step 1) Flip jeans inside out.

Jeans- 5 inside out

Step 2) Lay out and trim patch to cover area.

I flipped this patch over since the other side is lighter. Make sure jeans and patch are smoothed out completely.

Jeans 6

Step 3) Pin patch through first layer of jeans.

Do NOT pin or accidentally sew through both layers of jeans. You will hate yourself and ruin your jeans forever.

Jeans 7

Step 4) Zig-zag across entire patch.

Go slow, pull out pins as you go, and beware of bunching. This is what mine looked like after. I want them to be very strong in these high tension areas so it doesn’t pull out and so the fabric doesn’t fray anymore.

Jeans 8

Step 5) Turn right side out and check your handy work.

PROBLEM.#.2.TOO.LONG

Nate and I are not tall people. He also needed his jeans shortened.

Step 1) Have jean owner try on jeans inside out with shoes on.

Step 2) Pin up cuffs to the desired length and take jeans back off.

Step 3) Leave extra room for hem line and cut.

I am going to roll this hem over twice, and measured how much extra length to leave for a 1/2″ hem.

Bottom 1

Step 4) Fold over your hem and pin (still inside out)

Again, be careful to not pin or sew through both layers.

Bottom 2

Step 5) Sew all the way around and pull pins as you go.

Jeans shortened!

Bottom 3

PROBLEM.#.3.BELT.LOOP.HOLES

Nate has totally lost this other belt loop, otherwise I would have sewed it back on. But this area needs to be reinforced so he doesn’t loose the other one.

2 Jeans 7

Step 1) Turn inside out.

Step 2) Add your patch.

Step 3) Zig-zag across entire patch.

Nate’s other loop was detached at the bottom, so I was careful to hold it in place and not sew the middle of the loop closed for his belt. The thread is so well camouflaged, you can barely see what I’ve done.

2 Jeans 8

Step 4) Turn right side out.

People won’t notice a thing.

2 Jeans 9

Done!

Finish-1

I spared Nate the humiliation of wearing these for a photo, but when he put them on you couldn’t see any of the patching from the crotch or the belt and the length was perfect. I did this for both pairs of his jeans that day, and never did get to altar my clothes. :/ Another day!

3 thoughts on “REPAIR & ALTER FAVORITE JEANS

Leave a Reply

