DIY TRELLIS

Build trellis from scrap wood

Cover Photo

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” -Matthew 5:3

Do.It.Yourself. I’m of the personality type that loves those words. Not that I dislike someone else doing it for me; not at all! I feel extremely loved when someone does it for me. But when you are forced to be dependent on someone else for what you need, that can be a problem.

What if they don’t do it the way you want, or give you enough of what you need, or over charge you, or decide not to help or give it to you at all? No, thank you! I want to do it myself. Me. I want the control to say what, when, and how much. Don’t you? We love to DIY!

But that mentality can encourage other heretical beliefs. Like, “God helps those who help themselves.” I would be shocked if there is an American in the Bible belt who has not heard that phrase. If that phrase wasn’t so old, maybe people would say, “God helps those who DIY.”

So what happens when we are faced with a problem we can’t fix ourselves or afford to pay someone else to fix? Is DIY really God’s way of helping us?

Jesus’ Beatitudes from His sermon on the mount explains this quite beautifully. Jesus was speaking to a people who believed that you if you were prospering with health and wealth, then you were in God’s favor. And we are not much different, although now we believe in the self-made man (the ultimate DIYer) and only give God credit when things go wrong. Jesus corrects this heresy.

“And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:

‘Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

‘Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

‘Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

‘Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

‘Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

‘Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

‘Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

‘Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

‘Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.’” –Matthew 5:2-12

It would take several pages for me to pick this apart and point out how world-altering this small part of His sermon is. When you are on your knees before the Lord, seeking Him and acknowledging Him as your Savior, Creator, and Owner, you can’t help but acknowledge how poor, mournful, meek, and thirsty your disposition is. When it comes to reconciling our sins to God, we just can’t do it ourselves, we need Jesus to do it for us. This is your invitation and I hope you accept. Jesus says, “For those who admit they can’t DIY, you get me.”

DIY.TRELLIS

Our wonderful neighbor, Brian, had given me a pile of scrap cedar leftover from an old fence. I used some to build a corner table and have plenty leftover. Part of his fence was a small wooden gate. It is tall and thin and I’ve been dying to do something fun with it but haven’t found the perfect spot. Until now.

First I decided I wanted the clematis planter to sit on a platform. I built that from scraps and stained both to match the window boxes, benches, and front door.

image

Then I used some leftover kennel fencing for the plant to climb.

image

I clipped it to the desired shape with wire cutters and stapled it onto the gate. I liked the look of it curving out in a half circle and attached it to hold that shape.

image

image

Then I placed the flower pot onto the base and carefully attached the clematis onto the fence to encourage climbing.

image

I filled in the base with extra plants and rocks for aesthetics.

image

And a few weeks later, it is a very happy plant. In a month we will have some fragrant white blooms all over this guy.

image

For other updates . . . I was able to fill my flower boxes for $5 each thanks to an Independence Day sale at Home Depot.

image

This amazing bush bloomed! I was waiting to see what kind it was, but I still don’t know the name. I see them all over the place. Comment if you know!

image

The retaining wall plants are filling in wonderfully. We have a nice progression of blooms from various flowers. When we get the patio rock, I’ll work on these stairs a bit more.

image

DIY deer repellent works like a charm! They haven’t touched my cherry trees. You can kind of see the trellis in the pic, between the garage door and the man door.

image

Each different color of glad has been blooming in a progression. First red, purple, then pink. I’m waiting for the next color. 🙂

image

I’ve been pleased to see the flowers we planted for the critters are serving their purpose.

Butterfly 1

image

Butterfly 2

I have zinnias here and there all over the property.

image

Close up of the pink glads. Thank you, Kaye, for the bulbs!

image

Our veggie garden is producing like mad for it’s small size. Yellow, cherry, purple, beef, and grape tomatoes, zucchini, cucumbers, 2 pumpkins so far, and I’m waiting for yellow squash. It looks like a jungle, but not too shabby for a hobo garden.

image

Tip: After the sunflowers and zinnias blooms are done, clip them, dry them, store them in paper bags with labels, and replant them next spring. The sunflower in the above photo came from a commercial bouquet given to me by my favorite brother for my birthday last fall. Love you, Chad! Your gift keeps giving.

5 thoughts on “DIY TRELLIS

Leave a Reply

